# Save Project

Saving a project lets you return to it later and keeps a copy of your data in case of accidents. We **STRONGLY** recommend saving projects periodically to guard against data loss.

<figure id="bkmrk--2">![Abdx5okg348deia-ejl7mlh9s6ljyuoionytq-png.png](https://docs.t3rra.com/uploads/images/gallery/2025-03/scaled-1680-/Abdx5okg348deia-ejl7mlh9s6ljyuoionytq-png.png)</figure>The **Save project** button is in the top left corner of any main wizard page.

<span id="bkmrk-%C2%A0"></span><figure id="bkmrk--6"><figcaption>## Structured saving

The **Save proj.** button opens the screen shown below for saving a project in T3RRA’s structured file saving area.

</figcaption>![PWaka3-cdvlylkedfuokfuzv9iupespl2sia-png.png](https://docs.t3rra.com/uploads/images/gallery/2025-03/scaled-1680-/PWaka3-cdvlylkedfuokfuzv9iupespl2sia-png.png)</figure>Enter values for the following fields:

- Grower
- Farm Name
- Field Name
- Project Name

<span id="bkmrk--8"></span>Alternatively, select a previously saved value from the drop down list in any of these fields.

<span id="bkmrk-%C2%A0-1"></span>Press the final **Ok** to save the project and add its file to T3RRA’s structured file saving area.

<span id="bkmrk-%C2%A0-2"></span><figure id="bkmrk--14"><figcaption>## Choose another save location

Select **Manually Choose Location** to save to an alternate location.

</figcaption>![iuN2tti9f1tpr1nusrsibj2hpswo-4vaqoyta-png.png](https://docs.t3rra.com/uploads/images/gallery/2025-03/scaled-1680-/iuN2tti9f1tpr1nusrsibj2hpswo-4vaqoyta-png.png)</figure>When choosing a save location manually, use either of these two navigation methods:

- Use the left portion of the window to navigate through folders to the desired save location.
- Use the main section in the center of the window to navigate to the desired file save location.

<span id="bkmrk-%C2%A0-3"></span>After navigating to the desired location, enter a file name and press the save button.

<span id="bkmrk-%C2%A0-4"></span><p class="callout info">**NOTE:** Project files are normal Windows files and can be stored anywhere on the computer. We recommend regularly copying your files to a location off the in-cab tablet, so they are stored safely if anything happens to your tablet or PC.</p>

<span id="bkmrk--20"></span>## Autosaving

T3RRA software autosaves project data at approximately 5 minute intervals to help in the event of accidental software closure or software or hardware failure.

<span id="bkmrk-%C2%A0-5"></span>Autosave files use the same name and location as the open project, with the additional suffix **.backup**.

<figure id="bkmrk--25">![mfZ3cy0pf9ghsam7tvmifbsmut9osxbessdea-png.png](https://docs.t3rra.com/uploads/images/gallery/2025-03/scaled-1680-/mfZ3cy0pf9ghsam7tvmifbsmut9osxbessdea-png.png)</figure><span id="bkmrk--26"></span>When you load a project, the software checks for a backup. If a backup exists and has a newer date/time stamp, you are offered the option of loading it.

<span id="bkmrk-%C2%A0-6"></span>An autosave file has the same format as a regular project. To keep both the original file and the autosaved version, use Windows Explorer to rename the autosave file and remove the **.backup** extension.